You’ve been there. You’re casually skimming your Twitter feed, when an unfamiliar cluster of letters, all caps, meant to denote something pertinent to the entire tweet, eludes you.

The following is a handy list of some of the most commonly used acronyms on Twitter. (You’re welcome.)

AF As F*ck
AFAIK As Far As I Know
BFD Big F*cking Deal
FF Follow Friday
FWIW For What It’s Worth
HT Hat Tip
ICYMI In Case You Missed It
IMO In My Opinion
IMHO In My Humble Opinion
LOL/LOLZ Laughing Out Loud
LMAO Laughing My Ass Off
LMFAO Laughing My F*cking Ass Off
LMBO Laughing My Butt Off
MT Modified Tweet
RN Right Now
RT Retweet
SMH Shaking My Head
SMDH Shaking My Damn Head
TBQH To Be Quite Honest
TIL Today I Learned
TL;DR Too Long; Didn’t Read
WTB Want To Buy
WTF What The F*ck
WTH What The Hell

Did I miss one that you use? What’s the most recent acronym you’ve had to look up?

2 thoughts on “Twitter Cheat Sheet: Commonly Used Acronyms Explained

Leave a Reply

